Outside Bench

This is the bench I made for my parents. I printed out several different styles online and they chose this style. It’s made of Hemlock. I wanted to use Hem-Fir but the place I get that from was out. Mainly because it’s less expensive than the big box store Hemlock.

IMG_20170510_112646908_HDR

This was pretty easy to make and I got to use my nail gun which I love! I used pieces of poster board to set the gaps between each one of the slats. Also, I have no visible screws on the outside, other than tiny nail gun holes towards the bottom of each leg. The plan for this particular bench had the 1×3 slat supports underneath going vertically and I wasn’t sure how I would attach the slats that way. Definitely didn’t want to do that many pocket holes. So I decided to turn them horizontally and screw up from the bottom. Everything is glued for extra strength.

Now lets just hope they don’t ask me to finish it!! Up next…..Industrial Style Coffee Table!

Leave a Reply

